9 posts :: Page 1 of 1
By: Likes:
  (Read 11544 times)  

Well. the off-season is here unexpectedly.....we missed the playoffs for the first time in a few years, and it's already time to start looking forward.

Last year we hit the weights pretty hard and I think it helped us be a little stronger on our feet and also with injury prevention. Still, our skating skills are lagging compared to our competition.....We only have ice 8 months a year and our competitors have it year round, and I'm not sure we can make up for lost ground here.

Anyone have any suggestions for improving skating in the off-season WITHOUT access to the ice? My guess is there is no substitute for skating, but if anyone has other ideas I'm all ears! I'm not an expert skating coach, but I can tell you that we need to skate with more knee bend, our D need better forward to backward mobility, and our forwards need plenty of agility work as well.

Thanks in advance, and hope you all have better post-season success than we did this year.

Dave
----------------------------------------------------
Sorry to hear that Dman. I had Gaston do a skating session today with my 11-14 group and he was great.
The Red Bull organization I was with really use the skate mill a lot. There is a big debate by many on whether it helps or not. I know it halped Dany Heatley when he was a teenager and it helped my son. It is easy to work on technique when a coach is right there. If you don't have access to a treadmill then multi jumps with bent knees can help. i.e. immitative skating, long lunges, duck walk etc.
I am sure other coaches have a lot of ideas.

I would propose:

- first give players some rest
- then test mobility/flexibility and plan dynamic mobility / stretching exercises for problem areas (ankle, knee, hip) and start treadmill or sliding board exercises for stamina with the good ankle/knee bend