8 posts :: Page 1 of 1
By: Likes:
  (Read 11346 times)  

Tom,

I have noticed that you have posted a number articles regarding Dr Gaston Schaeffer and his skating techniques.

Just how important is it for a young player to be a strong skater and have good mechanics ?

How high on the list is skating for scouts when they are looking at potential draft picks?

I have studied power skating or the mechanics that go with it. However it is for my own personal interest , and the odd time i am able to give advice to young players if need be. I am not a expert , but just enjoy it, and just adds to my coaching.

I see many young players with lots of talent , but you see that short choppy stride with only a partial leg recovery. No weight transfer from leg to leg , just poor mechanics , and it gets worse as they get tired during a game.

Players should work a few edges every time they step on the ice and feel each motion. Get rid of that stiffness and think and feel each movement even if it's for a few minutes.
It seems to be more fun to grab that puck and fire it at the net or the goalies head than work on the skating.

But this is only my opinion , maybe it's because I enjoy watching a great skater and how they move across the ice and turn on a dime.
Tom , I know you have seem some great skaters over the years.
Would you agree how enjoyable it is to watch a player skate , and knowing this player has put in the time to become a great skater ?

RookieCaoch

'The Game is the Greatest Coach'
'Enjoy the Game'

Admin

Rookie Coach,
I have put a lot about skating lately because at this time of year where I live it is specialty camps and skill camps that are happening that I am involved with and that is what I have filmed.

As far as skating well I have a little story that may emphasis why it is so important.