1 posts :: Page 1 of 1
By: Likes:
  (Read 2117 times)  

I've been coaching for 15 years. I've used elements of Hockey Coaching ABC's for 6 years and plan to get my Level 4 card over CCHA Championship weekend in Detroit.

In our recent Squirt AA playoff games, our team is winning by 6 plus goals against teams that we played closely at the beginning of the season.

Obviously most of this is due to the kids working hard in practice and coming together as a team. I am noticing that we have a lot more kids scoring in recent games.

I'm attempting to understand if the coaching has improved. I'm not sure but this season I had more of a plan preseason than usual.
We skate 3 days per week.

My plan for this season:

95% of our practices consist of skating techniques or small area games.

My goal was for players to carry pucks on every single skating drill. We have not deviated.

We had 3 core drills that were too difficult for our players at seasons beginning. We have run these 3 drills every practice. There has been noticable improvement.

The drills were:

1) Skating the dots with pucks forward, backward and transitioning in patterns ending with a shot on net.
2) Wisconsin passing drill variations 1-0 1-1 2-1 3-1
3) 3 Man Weave full ice emphasis offensive triangle.

We have added competitive elements to each of these drills. We call it shoot to score. The first to 3 goals gets to take a knee as the winner. The other players take a knee and cheer on their teammates until all finish.

We play 10-15 different SAGs with varying rules from adding players to the attach, to continuous 3-2, to passes to safeties etc etc.
The players love these drills. We rotate letting a player pick each player pick a favorite for a practice.

Coaches take about 2 minutes on ice prior to Skating the Dots and talk about all the good things a particular player has done in games/practices the prior week. That player leads the team in Skating the Dots.