7 posts :: Page 1 of 1
By: Likes:
  (Read 8090 times)  

Hey everyone.

I stumbled across this site in a Google search for hockey coaching. After browsing through it I decided to sign up. What a ton of great information.
A bit about myself- I am just a baby as far as coaching goes. I have been an assistant coach of my daughters Timbit team in Calgary for two years. I loved every minute of it, and want to continue coaching as she progresses through the divisions. This spring she joined a prestigous team and I volunteered to head coach for it. Needless to say that I am a little nervous about it. Here is why- I never played hockey. No, that's not quite true. I played 13 games. All last year (I was 37 years old) in a rec league. I discovered I am not very good at it. LOL I never had the opportunity to play as a kid. But I still have loved the game since I was able to walk.

Also this past November, I became the head coach for the Calgary Scorpions. They are the Senior B division Sledge Hockey team in Calgary. When I came on board with them, they played chase the puck. No wins all season, with only one goal. After 3 months of hard work, we went on to win the Western Canada Sledge Hockey Tournament. These guys have passion, they just needed some guidance.

If plan to take my coaching further,which I do, I need lots of help, and this sure looks like the place to get it.

Welcome to the site Sledgey. Join in on the discussions and ask questions. Coaches from all over the world come here and are willing to share their ideas and discuss hockey and coaching topics.

'The Game is the Greatest Coach'
'Enjoy the Game'

Admin

Welcome Sledgey! This is a great site to learn about coaching.

I am also a Calgarian; I have been working at the Timbit level with a friend's team in Simon's Valley this year, and will become more active with my own kids when they turn 5, so I am sure we can compare notes at some point.