6 posts :: Page 1 of 1
By: Likes:
  (Read 6115 times)  

Hello fellow coaches,

I have been coaching Pee Wee's and Bantams for the past 4 years, switching off every other year. I have been fortunate enough to get a boys high school coaching position here in the US. I have coached as high as U16 and have participated in some area bantam camps.

My job will be to take over the defense portion of the team, I have some ideas I am going to coach/teach, but I was wondering if any coaches out there can help me or pass along a little advice.

I was looking to have a talk about what kind of preparation it will take, making the jump from Bantams to high school. My idea of DZ coverage, defending the NZ - backchecking and steering to the outside, and forechecking either and aggressive FC or when leading more of a 1-1-3.....not a trap Tom Laughing Out Loud

What about implementing a ton of contact? How much skill work should I continue with the team - we have 4 practices and 2 games a week.

Any help, advice, would be appreciated.

Iceman

Iceman, congratulations for the new coaching position. I know that you can't design the practice schedule as an assistant coach but here is how I organized the practices when I had 4 practices and two games a week at college. I am hoping the new elite U18 team I have been asked to coach has 4 on ice practices a week.

Monday: Skating Technique and Individual Offensive Skills followed by plyometrics or bike spinning after.

Tueday: Individual and group offensive skill and goalie warm up the first 30 minutes then focus on Individual Defensive Skills.

Wednesday: Individual and group offensive skill and goalie warm up the first 30 minutes then focus on Team Offensive Skills.

Thursday: Individual and group offensive skill and goalie warm up the first 30 minutes then focus on Team Defensive Skills.

Game Friday and Saturday with Sunday off.